Personal Assistant sought to support young man with intellectual disabilities

I am an 18 year old young man who is looking to access more opportunities to learn, to socialise and to generally become more independent. I have just left school and I will be starting in a new adult disability day service soon. However due to CoVid it will only be part-time so I really want to find other activities and opportunities to fill my week.

I am a very outgoing, confident and sociable person. I love trying new things and meeting new people. My family and friends say I have a great sense of humour and I love being stuck in the middle of the fun. I enjoy listening to music, going to the cinema, travelling and eating out but I really want to expand my horizons independently of my family, especially now that I have finished school. I want to be supported to try out new activities and skills like computers, technology, cooking and things I haven’t even thought of yet!

Basically, I want to be encouraged to do things outside of my comfort zone and to reach my potential. Some ideas I have are (but not limited to):

  • Helping with meal preparation, cooking skills, shopping and assisting with healthy eating choices
  • Supporting me to access Social and Leisure activities such as cinema, concerts, sporting activities
  • Research and identify travel and holiday breaks away independently of my family
  • Assisting me to get to college or day service (using public transport or by car)
  • Socialising e.g. nights out.

But I need support to do this – are you up for it?!

If so, you will also need to spend time researching activities, thinking outside the box a little bit and networking with people to identify opportunities that might work. I’m sure there will be lots of trial and error and you will have to be patient as we experiment with new ideas. But hopefully that will be part of the fun of this role!

If you:

  • have experience of working or living with people who have intellectual disabilities or those who find it challenging to access the mainstream world
  • have a real passion for equality and social justice.
  • Believe that young people with intellectual disabilities should be able to choose what they want to do with their life.
  • Enjoy developing an understanding of the person’s specific needs and aspirations, and supporting them identify and access suitable courses, activities or volunteer opportunities
  • Are energetic and enjoy a good laugh

then please contact me on: MyFutureMyWay20@gmail.com outlining your experience, ideas of how you feel you can support me to achieve my aspirations and any other information that may be relevant. A short video would make it easier for me to understand your application. Closing date is Wednesday September 30th

Hours & Terms

10 to 15 hours per week on a flexible basis with some evening and weekend hours potentially.

Based in Dublin 5 area.

Rate: €15 - €18/hr depending on experience

Driving licence and access to a car a distinct advantage.

General Info

Date Entered/Updated
11th Sep, 2020
Region
Dublin 5
Expiry Date
30th Sep, 2020