Third Europe-wide Innovation in Politics Awards now open for Irish nominations

NOTE: This item has expired and will soon be unavailable for viewing.

Innovation in Politics Awards & DCU Logos

The third Europe-wide Innovation in Politics Awards is calling for nominations of Irish politicians at local, regional, national and international levels, who have played a significant role in developing new and inspiring projects in:

  1. Human Rights
  2. Democracy
  3. Community
  4. Ecology
  5. Civilisation
  6. Prosperity
  7. Jobs
  8. Quality of life.

Established in 2017 by the Vienna based Innovation in Politics Institute, the Awards are an opportunity to acknowledge politicians when they truly make a difference and to highlight Irish innovation to the rest of Europe.

The Awards are administered with national partners. Partnered in Ireland by Dublin City University (DCU), Deiric O’Broin of its School of Law and Governance commented:

‘The decisions and actions of politicians affect all of us in our daily lives. The Innovation in Politics Awards seeks to identify and promote innovative political decision making that makes a real and positive difference to people and communities around Ireland. Political courage and vision are often required to make things happen that result in effective solutions to issues at a local, regional, national or international level - to make good politics. It is important to showcase examples of good politics, even more so when democracy itself is facing challenge and when trust in politics needs rebuilding’.

Ronny Zuckermann co-founder of the Innovation in Politics Institute added that:

‘a 2018 Eurobarometer survey reveals that an increasing number of Europeans distrust both national governments and national parliaments. This is challenge for all of us. The Innovation in Politics Awards provides a platform to inspire people about the value of democracy and politics. They promote exceptional efforts of politicians to work towards strengthening European values, and better social balance, while engaging people to be involved in decision making that affects them and their communities.’

A jury of over 1,000 citizens across Europe adjudicate on the entries and select the most innovative projects annually. The 2019 Awards will be announced in Berlin on 4 December 2019.

Of the 80 European finalists in 2018, nine were Irish including:

  • Dr. Katherine Zappone, Minister Children and Youth Affairs for the 2018-2020 LGBTI+ Youth Strategy;
  • Seán Kyne, formerly Minister of State for Rural Affairs and Natural Resources and Cllr. Patsy O’Brien former Chair of the Northern and Western Regional Assembly for the development and launch of the Atlantic Economic Corridor from Kerry to Derry;
  • Cllr. Declan Hurley, Cork County Council for the development of Dunmanway Community Garden and
  • Cllr. Andrew Montague, Dublin City Council for the first bike-sharing scheme in Europe now called Just Eat dublinbikes.

The participation of citizens is a key element of the Awards, either as nominators or as jurors. Everyone aged over 16 can apply to become a juror and to join with others in the opportunity select and learn about exemplar political initiatives from across Europe.

How to nominate a politician/political project: Anyone can nominate a project online, by 15th July 2019, via hyperlink:

How to become a juror: Provide details via hyperlink:



Expiry date: 


Date Entered/Updated: